Public Notice on Issuence / Renewal /Modification of Licences
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka
Renewal of International Telecommunications Service Licence of
Bharti Airtel Lanka (Private) Limited
The Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (“the Commission”) was set up as the independent regulator under the Telecommunications (Amendment) Act No. 27 of 1996, and is responsible for regulating telecommunications sector in Sri Lanka including managing the radiofrequency spectrum.
Bharti Airtel Lanka (Private) Limited (hereinafter referred to as  Airtel) has applied for the renewal of its Operator licence granted by the Minister on 01st December 2007  under Section 17 (2)  of the Sri Lanka Telecommunications Act, No. 25 of 1991 (“the Act”) as amended to operate a telecommunications system to provide International Telecommunication Service.
The Commission is satisfied that Airtel has fulfilled the requirements set out in the Guidelines and Procedures for issuing, renewal and modification of licences under the Act, published in Gazette No. 1435/20 dated 10.03.2006.
Therefore, the public is hereby noticed under Section 17 (3) (a) of the Act that the Commission proposes to recommend to His Excellency the President the grant of a licence to Airtel for a period of ten years.
The public is hereby further noticed that representations or objections to the grant of licence to Airtel may be made not later than 28.03.2018. The representations and objections should be in writing and addressed to Director General, Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka.
A draft of the proposed licence  is available to the public on the Commission’s official web site,
By Order of the Commission
P.R.S.P. Jayathilake
Director General.
Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka,
No 276, Elvitigala Mawatha,
Colombo 08.
Tel:  0112689345   Fax:  0112689341  
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.